Sunday, June 16, 2024

Top 5 This Week

Related Posts

Erica Farber, Don Cornelius Honored


10 for 10th: Library of American Broadcasting

To Present Giants of Broadcasting Honors

Awards go to Sir Howard Stringer, Ted Turner, Norman Lear, George Beasley, Erica Farber, Robert MacNeil & Jim Lehrer, Andy Rooney, Don Cornelius and Dinah ShoreThe national Library of American Broadcasting will present its  10th Annual GIANTS OF BROADCASTING Honors  at a ceremony and luncheon to be held on October 18, 2012, in New York City.

The event, attended by prominent members of the broadcasting, media and corporate communities, serves as a tribute to those individuals who have played pivotal roles in creating and advancing the electronic arts. The distinguished honorees join  140  GIANTS OF BROADCASTING  who have been honored by the Library since 2003.

BILL BAKER, president emeritus of WNET New York and himself a Giant of Broadcasting, will serve as master of ceremonies.

Sir Howard Stringer, Chairman of the Sony Corporation
Ted Turner,  Media Mogul and Creator of CNN, TBS, TNT; Philanthropist
Norman Lear,  Writer-Producer of  All in the Family, Maude, The Jeffersons,  Sanford and Son  and a number of major hits
George Beasley, Chairman, CEO and Founder of Beasley Broadcast Group Erica Farber, President and CEO of the Radio Advertising Bureau
Robert MacNeil and Jim Lehrer, Creators and Anchors of  The MacNeil/Lehr  Report, MacNeil/Lehrer News Hour,  News Hour with Jim Lehrer and PBS NewsHour
Andy Rooney*  Veteran reporter; writer; commentator on CBS‘  60 Minutes
Don Cornelius**, Creator, Host and Producer of nationally syndicated  Soul Train
Dinah Shore***,  Singer, Actress and Television Personality
*Leslie Stahl,  Correspondent,  60 Minutes  and  Face the Nation, will accept the award on behalf of Andy Rooney.*
*Tony Cornelius
 will be accepting for his father, Don Cornelius.*
**Dick Arlett,  
producer of “Dinah and Friends,” will accept for Dinah Shore.

Thursday, October 1811:30 a.m. (Reception)Noon ““ 2:30 p.m. (Luncheon and Awards Ceremony)

The Starlight Roof (18th  Floor)Waldorf-Astoria Hotel301 Park Avenue (Between 49th  and 50th  Streets) New York City

Note: Notable 2010 broadcasting legends; Hal Jackson, Dick Clark and Art Linkletter

Library of American Broadcasting The  LIBRARY OF AMERICAN BROADCASTING (LAB)  “”  located at the University of Maryland “” is entering its 41st year serving as the national information resource for the radio and television industries and the academic communities that rely upon it for depth and expertise.

Its collections of historic documents, professional papers, oral and video histories, books and photographs are among the nation’s most extensive. LAB is evolving from a conventional library into a “homepage” for the world at large, no longer confined to responding to constituents one at a time but reaching thousands simultaneously through the Internet.

Industry outreach includes lectures, symposia, print and the broadcast media themselves. LAB’s chair is Virginia Hubbard Morris, president of Hubbard Radio, based in Minneapolis-St. Paul; the president/CEO is Donald West, veteran broadcast journalist and former assistant to the president of CBS Inc.; the dean of libraries at the University of Maryland is Patricia Steele, and the curator is Chuck Howell.

The Library has been honoring leaders in the broadcasting industry annually since 2003 “” its list of Giants will now reach 150.

Previous honorees include industry founders Guglielmo Marconi, David Sarnoff of RCA and NBC, William S. Paley and Frank Stanton of CBS, Leonard Goldenson of ABC, Bob Hope, Lucille Ball, Jack Benny, Philo Farnsworth, H. V. Kaltenborn, Edward R. Murrow, Walter Cronkite, Arthur Godfrey, Paul Harvey, Charlie Rose, Ken Burns, Johnny Carson, Katie Couric, Brian Williams, Christiane Amanpour, Lowry Mays and Tim Russert.

Tony Cornelius  accepted the award for his father, who died  tragically in  February at the age of 75. The elder Cornelius committed suicide, a subject that has been become close to his  son. He created the Don Cornelius Foundation, decidated to helping individuals who are contemplating suicide.

“If everyone in this house could save one, it would just be unbelievable,” Cornelius says.–

(photo credit Margot Jordan)Tony Cornelius, honoree Erica Farber and Sir Howard Stringer; Dick Arlett

128) Tony Cornelius accepts the Giants of Broadcasting Award from Donald West, President of the Library of American Broadcasting
101) Don Cornelius
126) Tony Cornelius has created the Don Cornelius Foundation to assist companies and individuals with suicide prevention
085 Tony Cornelius and honoree Ted Turner
020) Bob Baker of PBS
037) Lesley Stahl accepts the Giants of Broadcasting Award for the late Andy Rooney

077) Tony Cornelius, Ted Turner, Robert MacNeil, Erica Farber, Sir Howard Stringer, Dick Arlett, Lesley Stahl, George Beasley and Don West


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Popular Articles