Wednesday, July 17, 2024

Top 5 This Week

Related Posts

SLASH to Rock Kimmel Next Week, New Album Drops May 17 (video)

In celebration of his forthcoming new album Orgy of the Damned out May 17 on Gibson Records HERESLASH the iconic, GRAMMY®-winning guitarist and songwriter will perform songs all next week on Jimmy Kimmel Live!. 

SLASH to Perform on Kimmel Next Week

Tune-in on Monday, May 20, Tuesday, May 21, and Wednesday, May 22 to watch SLASH perform a selection of songs from his star- studded new Blues album alongside Cleto and the Cletones airing at 11:35 PM (ET/PT)/10:35 PM (CT) on ABC, as well as the following day on Hulu and YouTube.

SLASH will release the third single and video for “Papa Was A Rolling Stone” featuring Demi Lovato’s powerhouse vocals on the day of the album release, this Friday, May 17.

The new track follows the first two songs released so far from Orgy of the Damned, including “Oh Well” with outlaw country star Chris Stapleton on vocals; listen to SLASH’s “Oh Well” with Chris Stapleton HEREand watch/share the visualizer for “Oh Well” HERE

The first single “Killing Floor” features Brian Johnson of AC/DC on vocals, and Steven Tyler of Aerosmith on harmonica HEREwatch/share the “Killing Floor” video for a first look at SLASH and with his blues band in the studio HERE.

SLASH’s Orgy of the Damned is available for pre-order worldwide digitally, and on vinyl and CD via Gibson Records HERE. Watch/share the new album trailer HERE and for more information, go to

A vibrant homage to the blues, SLASH’s star-studded blues album and sixth solo album of his career overall, Orgy of the Damned is a collection of 12 dynamic songs that revitalize the blues with a stripped-down approach. 

By celebrating both well-known and largely undiscovered songs, SLASH offers a nostalgic nod to the past while reinvigorating the songs with his inimitable guitar playing and the spirit of collaboration.

For Orgy of the Damned, the acclaimed guitarist reteamed with storied producer Mike Clink and enlisted the album’s diverse guest vocalists, which include Gary Clark Jr, Billy F. Gibbons, Chris Stapleton, Dorothy, Iggy Pop, Paul Rodgers, Demi Lovato, Brian Johnson, Tash Neal, Chris Robinson, and Beth Hart. 

Rounding out his blues band in the studio and on the road, SLASH reunited with two of his bandmates from his Blues Ball outfit in the 90s, bassist Johnny Griparic and keyboardist Teddy ‘ZigZag’ Andreadis, and brought on drummer Michael Jerome and singer/guitarist Tash Neal.

Orgy of the Damned encompasses a broad range of styles within the blues genre, veering from an upbeat, rowdy take on Robert Johnson’s “Crossroads” to a plaintive, twanging rendition of T. Bone Walker’s “Stormy Monday.” 

Some of the songs, like Steppenwolf’s “The Pusher,” Charlie Segar’s “Key to the Highway,” and Albert King’s “Born Under a Bad Sign,” had been performed by Slash’s Blues Ball, while others, like Stevie Wonder’s “Living for the City,” were long-time favorites for SLASH

“Hoochie Coochie Man,” written by Willie Dixon and made famous by Muddy Waters in 1954, showcases the in-the-moment nature and unrestrained energy of Orgy of the Damned, with Z.Z. Top’s Billy F. Gibbons stepping in on guitar and vocals. The group went into a rehearsal room in North Hollywood and began hashing out soulful, rollicking takes on the classic songs.

Everything was played live in the room, with an emphasis on improvisation which resulted in a collection of dynamic, energized songs that are vital and raw.

SLASH has curated an all-star Blues lineup for the first-ever S.E.R.P.E.N.T. Blues Festival touring North America this summer. SLASH formed the S.E.R.P.E.N.T. festival which stands for Solidarity, Engagement, Restore, Peace, Equality N’ Tolerance to bring fans together to celebrate the spirit of the Blues, and to perform with other Blues artists he admires who share his love of the genre. 

SLASH’s S.E.R.P.E.N.T. festival includes Warren Haynes Band, Keb’ ‘Mo, Christone “Kingfish” Ingram, Robert Randolph, Samantha Fish, Eric Gales, ZZ Ward, Jackie Venson, and Larkin Poe. 

On all dates, SLASH will perform alongside his Blues band featuring bassist Johnny Griparic, keyboardist Teddy ‘ZigZag’ Andreadisdrummer Michael Jerome, and singer/guitarist Tash Neal. 

Today, the S.E.R.P.E.N.T. Blues Festival has added a new date of Tuesday, July 16 in Salt Lake City, UT at the Red Butte Garden; for all S.E.R.P.E.N.T. Blues Festival dates, visit:

The S.E.R.P.E.N.T. Festival is designed with maximum social impact in mind. SLASH has a strong desire to give back to nonprofits that he has supported over the years, as well as to help lift marginalized communities, and support mental health initiatives that share his restorative focus of elevating lives for the benefit of all. 

SLASH has chosen five nonprofits to directly benefit from touring proceeds from the festival. NAMI, the National Alliance on Mental IllnessThe Equal Justice InitiativeKnow Your Rights CampThe Greenlining Instituteand War Child

Through the PLUS1.ORG, the S.E.R.P.E.N.T Festival will donate a portion of the proceeds from every VIP package, as well as every Ticket sold directly to the nonprofits selected by SLASH.

As part of the VIP program, fans also have the opportunity to access SLASH’s official Soundcheck Experience and can take home a hand-autographed vinyl copy of the new Orgy of the Damned album, receive an exclusive SLASH piece of jewelry, and more. For details on all S.E.R.P.E.N.T Festival packages, visit

S.E.R.P.E.N.T Festival 2024 North American Dates with Warren Haynes Band, Keb’ ‘Mo, Christone “Kingfish” Ingram, Robert Randolph, Samantha Fish, Eric Gales, ZZ Ward, Jackie Venson, and Larkin Poe:

  • * Warren Haynes Band, Samantha Fish, and Eric Gales
  • ** Keb’ ‘Mo, Samantha Fish, and Jackie Venson
  • # Keb’ ‘Mo, ZZ Ward ,and Jackie Venson
  • $ Keb’ ‘Mo, ZZ Ward, and Robert Randolph
  • + Larkin Poe, ZZ Ward, and Robert Randolph
  • ^^Christone “Kingfish” Ingram, ZZ Ward, and Robert Randolph

Popular Articles